GCISD Board Named TASA Honor School Board
Posted on 08/03/2018

The Grapevine-Colleyville ISD Board of Trustees is one of five school boards from across Texas selected as Honor School Boards as part of the 2018 Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) School Board Awards. Each year, the program recognizes outstanding Texas school boards for commitment and service that has made a positive impact on Texas public school students.

The five Honor Boards were selected by a committee of Texas school superintendents, chaired by Coahoma ISD superintendent Amy Jacobs, whose school board was named the Outstanding School Board for 2017. The selection committee’s decisions were based on specific criteria, including support for educational performance, support for educational improvement projects, commitment to a code of ethics, and maintenance of harmonious and supportive relationships among board members.

“The Grapevine-Colleyville ISD Board of Trustees has a shared vision that embraces diversity and strives for excellence for all,” said Jacobs. “Board members encourage district staff to step out of their comfort zones and personalize education for every student.”

The GCISD Board of Trustees was nominated for the award by Superintendent Robin Ryan. “I am privileged to work with this board as we work to empower and educate students to become productive citizens,” said Ryan. “I know that our Team of Eight works as a team built on trust, respect and common goals. I also know that the first priority of every one of our board members is doing what is best for students.”

The GCISD and other four Honor Boards — Brenham, Community, Lamar and Medina Valley ISDs — are now finalists for the program’s highest honor: 2018 Outstanding School Board. They will be interviewed at the TASA/TASB Convention in Austin, then one board will be named Outstanding School Board during the convention’s second general session at 10:30 a.m., Sept. 29. The other Honor Boards, as well as 16 regional winners, will also be recognized at that time.

Since 1971, the TASA School Board Awards program has honored Texas school district boards of trustees that have demonstrated dedication to student achievement and that put students first. The program is facilitated by TASA, the professional association for Texas school administrators, providing networking and professional learning opportunities, legislative advocacy, and targeted communications to support the work of superintendents and other school leaders. The organization’s mission is to promote, provide and develop leaders who create and sustain student-centered schools and develop future-ready students.