Parthemore Named Texas Teacher of Year Finalist
Posted on 08/15/2018

Joe Parthemore, a fifth-grade math and science teacher at Cannon Elementary in Grapevine-Colleyville ISD, has been named one of six finalists for 2019 Texas Teacher of the Year, according to the Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA), which facilitates the awards program.

“Nurturing children from the ground up is a foundational piece in seeing students thriving,” Parthemore said. “Students are like plants in that each one is different and have needs in order to survive and thrive in their environment. As teachers, our focus can tend to be on academics and teaching all the content standards within the time constraints of the school year. It's our responsibility to know our students beneath the surface and foster those needs because, if students do not have everything they need, they will never grow.”

Parthemore has taught fifth grade at Cannon Elementary for the past two years and at Dove Elementary prior to that. He serves as a district elementary science learning leader and curriculum collaborator and coaches his campus robotics team.

As Region 11 Elementary Teacher of the Year this year, Parthemore was among 40 outstanding Texas educators eligible for consideration for Texas Teacher of the Year. Earlier this month a panel of judges composed of representatives of Texas teacher associations and the 2018 Texas Teacher of the Year finalists chose him and five other Regional Teachers of the Year — three elementary and three secondary — as finalists. The other five will be announced by their respective districts this month and officially by TASA Aug. 20.

In September, Parthemore and the other finalists will be invited to Austin for interviews before a panel of judges composed of representatives of educational leadership associations, community and business leaders, a member of the State Board for Educator Certification, a member of the State Board of Education, and prior Texas Teachers of the Year.

The panel will select two state-level winners — Elementary Teacher of the Year and Secondary Teacher of the Year — and designate one to represent Texas in the National Teacher of the Year program. The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony Sept. 14 at the Bullock Texas State History Museum in Austin.

The Texas Teacher of the Year program has honored excellence in classroom education since 1969. The program, facilitated by TASA since 2011, annually recognizes and rewards teachers who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and excellence in teaching. In 2015, Texas Teacher of the Year Shanna Peeples of Amarillo ISD became the second Texas teacher to be named the National Teacher of the Year. Learn more at

TASA is the professional association for Texas school administrators, providing professional learning and networking opportunities, legislative advocacy, and targeted communications to support the work of superintendents and other school leaders. TASA’s mission is to promote, provide and develop leaders who create and sustain student-centered schools and develop future-ready students.