GMS Teachers Earn Air Force Association Awards
Posted on 06/01/2021

A pair of Grapevine Middle School teachers have been named Teacher of the Year by two separate local chapters of the Air Force Association (AFA). Lindsey Cato has been honored by the group’s Fort Worth Chapter and Jessica Fleitman has been honored by the Denton Chapter.

The AFA Teacher of the Year award was established to salute exemplary K-12 STEM educators for their outstanding classroom performance, collaborative initiatives, educational outreach, leadership, and significant impact in the school and community.

With their awards from the local chapters, each teacher received a $500 prize and has been submitted to the state committee for the AFA-Texas Teacher of the Year competition. The winner of the AFA-Texas Teacher of the Year honor will be awarded $1,000 and be a finalist for the AFA National Teacher of the Year award.