CHHS Teacher a Finalist for Top National Award
Posted on 05/20/2021

The Texas Education Agency (TEA) has named Colleyville Heritage High School science teacher Jason Crump as one of just three Texas finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

Mr. Crump began teaching in 2008 after a 10-year career in the healthcare industry. He came to CHHS in 2019 where he has taught Pre-AP Chemistry and AP Physics as well as STEM Chemistry in the STEM Academy. He also sponsors the Science Olympiad team, Science UIL, and Chess club. He graduated from Grapevine High School before attending Texas A&M and majoring in biomedical science.

The PAEMST, established by Congress in 1983, are the highest honors bestowed by the United States government specifically for K-12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teaching. 

A national selection committee will now review the three finalists from Texas and choose one to be a PAEMST awardee. Each Presidential Awardee receives a certificate signed by the President of the United States and a $10,000 award from NSF. Awardees are honored at an award ceremony which takes place in Washington, D.C.

The National Science Foundation, under the direction of the White House, organizes the national selection committee which is composed of prominent mathematicians, scientists, mathematics/science education researchers, district-level personnel, and classroom teachers. The committee meets May 13 through June 18 with the recognition event scheduled for August 15. Texas finalists and awardees are recognized each year at the January/February State Board of Education meeting.