GCISD Announces District Teachers of the Year
Posted on 04/23/2020
Images of Jennifer Pettit and Erica Terneus, GCISD Teachers of the Year

Grapevine-Colleyville ISD has announced its 2019-2020 Teachers of the Year. Jennifer Pettit, a kindergarten teacher at Cannon Elementary School, has been named the GCISD Elementary Teacher of the Year. Erica Terneus, a science teacher at Grapevine Middle School, has been named GCISD's Secondary Teacher of the Year.

The District’s Teacher of the Year awards are typically announced in on-campus celebrations that are coordinated in conjunction with the Grapevine-Colleyville Education Foundation. However, because of the current COVID-19 pandemic, this year’s winners were announced on a WebEx video session that all GCISD staff were invited to.

The winners were chosen from among the 20 previously selected campus teachers of the year (full list can be found here). 

Cannon Elementary principal Tina Garrett said the following of Jennifer Pettit:
“Jennifer is constantly innovating and setting high expectations for her scholars. She intentionally incorporates social-emotional well being strategies into the day and teaches scholars how to build and maintain friendships and empathy for others while fostering collaboration, opportunities for deeper learning, and facilitating the elements of a GCISD portrait of a graduate.”

Grapevine Middle principal Dr. Laura Koehler said the follow of Erica Terneus:
“Erica demonstrates strong pedagogical practices to design lessons that encourage inquiry based learning, and she is excellent at incorporating technology to enhance student learning. She is a leader on campus, supportive of everyone, and is always solution focused. She is one of the most positive colleagues to work with and understands what it means to be a great teacher.”

Congratulations to our outstanding 2019-2020 GCISD Teachers of the Year, Jennifer Pettit and Erica Terneus!